·  LMS  ·  GWR  ·  LNER  ·  Misc  ·  Stations  ·  What's New  ·  Video  ·  Guestbook  ·  About

LMS Route: Rugby to Wolverhampton
LMS Route: Nuneaton to Leamington

Coventry Station: lnwrcov3950


Ex-LMS 2P 0-4-4T No 41909 stands at the up platform with a local stopping train for Leamington Avenue station circa 1957. Nominally built William Stanier, they were in fact a design undertaken by his predecessor Sir Ernest Lemons and were in fact could be considered to be the last new design of the Midland Railway's school of engineering. Despite having little experience in locomotive engineering, in 1931 Lemon was appointed to the post of Chief Mechanical Engineer replacing the retiring Henry Fowler. After less than a year as CME however, Lemon was again promoted to Vice-President Railway Traffic, Operating and Commercial, replacing JH Follows who retired due to ill health. Under his Vice-Presidency, the LMS undertook modernisation of their motive power depots. William Stanier had been head-hunted from the Great Western Railway to replace him as CME and revolutionised the LMS's locomotive policy. The last member of a class of only ten locomotives to be built, No 41909 was built in January 1933 and was to remain in service until November 1959 being withdrawn from 2A Rugby shed to be scrapped by J Cashmore's of Great Bridge.